Extension and designation states of a European patent

We recapitulate here the date of entrance and the applicability in the time of the accession of new member states to the EPC since 2000

Contracting Extension Date of entry into force 
TR   November 1st, 2000 
BG, CZ, EE, SK   July 1st, 2002 
SI   December 1st, 2002 
HU    January 1st, 2003 
RO    March 1st, 2003 
PL    March 1st, 2004 
  HR  April 1st, 2004 
IS    November 1st, 2004 
  RS (YU)  November 1st, 2004 
LT    December 1st, 2004 
 BA   December 1st, 2004 
LV    July 1st, 2005 
MT    March 1st, 2007 
HR, NO    January 1st, 2008 
MK   January 1st, 2009 
SM   July 1st, 2009 
 ME March 1st, 2010 
AL   May 1st, 2010 
RS   October 1st, 2010 

European Patent

Only European patent applications filed on or after the date of entrance into force may designate the new member states.

No retroactively designation is possible.


Only PCT applications filed on or after the date of entrance, which designate European Patent, will include the new EPC contracting states.

Slovenia (SI) can no longer be designated through a national patent but must be designated through a European Patent.

Extensions states

It has to be noted that SI, RO, HR and MK were extension states.

The extension system will continue to apply to all EP and PCT applications filed prior the date of entrance with regard to these states.